Twin Cities Selected to Host 2016 Congressional Medal of Honor Society Convention

Twin Cities Selected to Host 2016 Congressional Medal of Honor Society ConventionOctober celebration to pay tribute to Medal of Honor recipients and inspire Minnesota students to strive to exemplify courage and character


MINNEAPOLIS (Feb. 17, 2016) – The Congressional Medal of Honor Society (CMOHS) has selected Minneapolis-St. Paul as the host community for the 2016 Medal of Honor Convention, taking place October 4-8, 2016.

“We are proud to call the Twin Cities home to our 2016 Medal of Honor Convention,” said Thomas G. Kelley, president of the Congressional Medal of Honor Society. “The people of this great state have already been so welcoming and we look forward to a special and uniquely Minnesota experience.”

The Medal of Honor Convention is a distinguished annual gathering of Medal of Honor recipients. Recipients have been recognized for their heroism with our nation’s highest award for military valor.

“As a 25-year veteran of the U.S. Marine Corps and currently a member of congress who participates in the Congressional Medal of Honor award process, it is an honor and a privilege to welcome these heroes to my home state,” said John Kline, U.S. representative.  “I look forward to celebrating their stories of bravery when they meet here this fall.”

The convention will offer a wide range of events including several meaningful opportunities for the Twin Cities community to interact with and honor the recipients. Highlights of the week will include the official public welcome, autograph session, school visits and the black-tie Patriot Awards Gala.

“We are thrilled to welcome our nation’s greatest heroes to Minnesota for this prestigious event,” said Lt. Gov. Tina Smith.  “Let us learn from their courage while they are among us.”

“Hosting the Medal of Honor Convention in the Twin Cities is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for our community to recognize our nation’s greatest heroes and draw inspiration from their incredible stories,” said Liz Dapp, chairwoman of the Medal of Honor Convention Twin Cities. “The recipients’ legacy project, the Character Development Program, encourages students to selflessly act on the behalf of others and instills in them the belief that ordinary people are capable of extraordinary things, often changing the course of history. We are extremely passionate about perpetuating these ideals and excited to bring this program to Minnesota schools.”

The Medal of Honor Convention Twin Cities is made possible by generous support from more than 30 national and Minnesota-based companies, organizations and individuals.

UnitedHealthcare, a Minnesota-based company that serves nearly three million military service members, veterans and their families through the Department of Defense’s TRICARE program, is the convention’s Presenting Sponsor.

“We are excited to be part of an event that honors those who have given so much to our country, and who inspire the next generation of Americans to live lives of service,” said Dr. John Mateczun, president of UnitedHealthcare Military & Veterans. “This is an opportunity for us to help further the mission of the Congressional Medal of Honor Society and create a lasting legacy in our community.”

Target is the convention’s Hero sponsor.

“Target is truly honored to support veterans, active military and their families, with special recognition for the Medal of Honor recipients,” said Laysha Ward, executive vice president and chief corporate social responsibility officer for Target. “Through their stories and actions, they plant the seeds of courage, selfless service and sacrifice within all of us. For that, we’re deeply grateful.”

Other major sponsors include American Airlines, APi Group, CHS, Delta Air Lines, Medtronic, Mortenson, St. Jude Medical, U.S. Bank, Ecolab, Hubbard Broadcasting, Liberty Diversified International and Sit Investment Associates.

›› About the Medal of Honor

The Medal of Honor is bestowed by the President, in the name of Congress, upon members of the United States Armed Forces who distinguish themselves through “conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of his or her life above and beyond the call of duty while engaged in an action against the enemy of the United States.” The Medal of Honor is the nation’s highest and rarest military decoration. Since 1861, when the Medal of Honor was created by President Abraham Lincoln, 3,496 individuals have received the medal. There are currently 77 living recipients.

›› About the Congressional Medal of Honor Society and Convention

The Congressional Medal of Honor Society was formed in 1958 under President Dwight Eisenhower to protect, uphold and preserve the dignity and honor of the medal at all times and on all occasions. The Congressional Medal of Honor Society’s convention and general meeting, held annually at different host communities across the country, serves:

  • To further the bond of brotherhood and camaraderie among all living recipients of the Medal of Honor.
  • To remember in reverence and respect those who received the Medal of Honor posthumously, and those who are now deceased.
  • To foster patriotism and to inspire and stimulate our youth to become better citizens of our country.
  • To recognize and award patriotic Americans who promote and perpetuate the principles upon which our nation was founded through their life’s work.

Presenting Sponsor


 Hero Sponsor

 Valor Sponsor

 Freedom Sponsors


 Patriot Sponsors


 Silver Sponsors

Andersen Corporation
Cardinal Glass
General Dynamics
Land O’ Lakes

 Bronze Sponsors

Emerson Process Management
Vista Outdoor
Huntington Ingalls Industries
Joan Stade
Patterson Companies
Thomson Reuters
Thrivent Financial
Xcel Energy


AgriBank Farm Credit Bank
Archer Daniels Midland Company
CenterPoint Energy
Children’s Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota
Herregan Distributors
Hormel Foods
IWCO Direct
McGough Construction
Mills Fleet Farm
RTP Company